The faces behind
the organisation




Jane Kreis, Director

Jane Kreis is the inaugural Director of Theatre Network NSW (TNN), the support, networking and advocacy organisation dedicated to the NSW theatre sector. TNN was incorporated in December 2014 with Jane employed in January 2015.

Jane has an extensive history in theatre and executive management and has been a long-term advocate for a NSW theatre network. She comes to the Network from 5 years as Executive Officer and Regional Arts Development Officer of Arts North West (the Regional Arts Board for the New England area in North Western NSW). Jane holds a PhD in sustainable Australian Independent Theatre practices from the University of Wollongong and a Masters in Principles of Performance Presence from Queensland University of Technology. Her experience as a theatre practitioner underpins much of her research and arts management.

‘NSW has the largest amount of theatre companies of any state or territory in Australia and TNN aims to reflect our strengths and diversity. The opportunity to work with the high-calibre Theatre Network NSW management committee (now board) and the network’s Associate members and our peers to advocate and strengthen such a creatively rich sector is very exciting’ says Jane Kreis. ‘This is a first for NSW and, judging by the impact our sister organisation Theatre Network Victoria (now Theatre Network Australia) has had in Victoria, it is a much-needed opportunity for the NSW theatre sector to claim a stronger voice and identity in such a competitive industry.' 

‘We are delighted to have appointed Jane as our inaugural Director. She has a range of experiences in all the right areas such as management, strategy, lobbying and communications, as well as an extensive background as a practitioner. As such she exemplifies the diversity and flexibility of those who work in the theatre sector,’ says TNN Chair Julieanne Campbell.

Jane works from a number of TNN-affiliated offices around NSW including bases at the Bankstown Arts Centre in Western Sydney, Grafton on the North Coast of NSW, and The Rocks, Sydney. This spread of offices allows the network to remain a truly all-of-NSW agency. TNN events and services are offered across the state and developed in partnership with the sector TNN represents. The Director's position is currently three days/week and is supported by the NSW government through Arts NSW.